3 pearls of wisdom for us dream-chasing, big-hearted, all-over-the-place 20-somethings

Hi, I’m Kim.  I have been married for 8 years and have the joy of being a SAHM to two little boys who are 5 and 2.  I am not a writer.  I met Robyn 10 years ago when I was one of her leaders in youth group.  I have had the privilege of being in her life since then.  She asked me a while back if I would be willing to share some wisdom on her blog.  I don’t feel like I have much to offer, but I would do anything for Robyn, so I made a short list of nuggets of wisdom to pass on. 

image1 (3).PNG

  1. Take all your dreams and the desires of your heart and lay them before the Lord. He loves to meet the desires of your heart. 

And then decide if He is worthy of your praise, even if none of them come true.  I once had someone ask me this question: “If you could dictate every detail of your life, but not have a relationship with Jesus, would you?”  If I’m honest with myself, it is a little tempting.  It certainly takes away a lot of “what if?” questions that keep me up at night.  There are no “what ifs?” if I get to decide.  There are a lot of accomplished dreams and a very comfortable life.  But, my answer is one thousand times no.  Because I have learned that His ways are better than my ways and often times, He has things in store for me that are so much better than I would have chosen for myself. 

If I was in charge, I would be married to my high school boyfriend, who turns out, is not as cool as I thought he was and for many reasons, not a good fit for me.  And I would have missed out on my way cooler husband, who loves me so well.  God is good.  I actually told my now husband on our first date that my dream job was to be a Room Mom.  You know, the mom that plans the parties and goes on the field trips.  Luckily, that didn’t scare him off, because what I was sharing were the many desires of my heartMy desire to be married, have children, be in a place where we can live on one income and I can stay home so that I have the time and availability to be involved in my kids’ school.  So many steps, so many chances for things to go wrong.  But, so many opportunities for the Lord to meet the desires of my heart.  In His infinite love and wisdom.  Because He loves me.  And He is worthy.    

img_0246

  1. Cut the grass every once in a while.

Until recently, cutting the grass was not in my wheel house.  It’s dirty and not fun and it’s a “man’s job.”  I remember the first time I got out and cut the grass.  My husband was having a busy week and we had weekend plans, and although I had never done it before, I had watched him do it hundreds of times, and my dad before that.  So, I put on my oldest shoes and figured it out. It was something I could take off his plateAnd you know what?  He didn’t even notice.  I thought it was a prank at first.  But, then I realized that’s the point.  I’m called to be my husband’s helper, to serve others.  So I do.  Just to helpNot to be praised or so he will brag about me or do my chores.  But because I am able bodied and can help.  Serve others.  Especially when there is no glory to gain.

DSC_2694

photo by danielle hulsey

 

  1. Don’t miss the blessing in your current life season by always thinking about the next.

Oh, this is so hard.  I feel like it is in our blood to think about the next season.  When we are in high school, all we can think about is college.  Then we get to college and can’t wait to get out.  Then we want to be engaged.  The engagement season is hard because all you want to do is get married.  Someone asked us at our rehearsal dinner how long we thought we would wait before we had a baby.  And the cycle goes on.  But each one of those seasons of life can be so rich and was designed to grow us and prepare us for the next.  Even in the midst of difficult seasons, so many blessings only last for that season.  When you are in high school, your mom does your laundry.  When you are in college, your best friends literally live next door and are always there.  You learn independence from being single and starting your first job, and when you are married before kids, you can go anywhere with only one bag and no babysitter. There are so many blessings in every season.  Take the time to look for them until the Lord allows the next.       

 

God Bless,

Kim

One thought on “3 pearls of wisdom for us dream-chasing, big-hearted, all-over-the-place 20-somethings

  1. Pingback: Where To Go | Robyn Field Writing

Leave a Reply

