S’mores Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcakes

Y’all. Y’ALL. I did it.

I took my original chocolate chip cookie recipe and TURNED IT INTO SOMETHING EVEN BETTER.

“What?!” you say. “But your cookie was already doughy! And too chocolately to eat in a dignified manner! And too soft to stay in one piece whilst cramming it into one’s mouth!! What could be better?!”

Adding s’mores, my fellow dough lovers. Adding s’mores makes. EVERYTHING. better, it turns out.

img_6601

 

 

I am only sorry it took me this long to realize.

Here’s how my jubilant discovery was made:

It all started when the Dawgs lost on Saturday…and it was heartbreaking. (I typically spend just as much time in my coloring book as I do watching the game on TV, but this match-up was SO NAIL-BITING I couldn’t even color.)

And that’s saying something, my friends.

There were 10 seconds left in the game – the Dawgs scored – the Dawgs rejoiced – too much, apparently – 4 seconds left – the Vols scored – we lost.

I almost cried. Seriously. Embarrassing to admit, but it’s true. Fellow extremely emotive people – I got you.

Hubby looked over at me, saw the totally rational pathetic look on my face and said, “Come on! Let’s go to Publix. Nothing cheers my wifey up like going to Publix.”

(What? You don’t cheer up at the grocery store, too? Weird.)

So there we were. The only people strolling through Publix at 9 p.m. on a Saturday. (#sorrynotsorry, amiright?!)

What will cheer me up? I wondered. I stared at the baking aisle. And then boxes of graham cracker crumbs spoke to me. No they didn’t. But as soon as my eyes landed on those boxes of grahamy goodness I thought, S’MORES. I WILL EAT DOUGHY S’MORE COOKIES TONIGHT. AND I WILL USE SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK BECAUSE THIS NIGHT CALLS FOR THAT LEVEL OF DOUGHY-NESS.

img_6576

I grabbed the ingredients and put them in hubby’s basket and felt the corners of my mouth curve upward in victory. Because the Dawgs might have lost. But when you decide to make s’mores cookies, you’re actually a winner.

So, without further ado, here is my original recipe for S’more Cookie Cupcakes (they’re cookies – but must be made in cupcake tins – because they’re THAT DOUGHY. You’re welcome.)

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) of butter

2 cups of white sugar

¼ cup of sweetened condensed milk

1 tbsp of vanilla

1 egg

2 cups of flour

2/3 cup of graham cracker crumbs (plus some extra for garnish)

1 tsp baking soda

A pinch of salt

Mini chocolate chips (I never use a number on chocolate. Eyeball it. Use a logical amount the whole bag, probably.)

2 break-apart Hershey’s bars

Marshmallow fluff (usually found on the baking aisle)

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cream together the sugar, egg, vanilla, and sweetened condensed milk.

In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking soda, and graham cracker crumbs.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, mixing on a low speed.

  • I add a little bit of dry ingredients, and then some chocolate chips, mix them in, and repeat both steps until all the ingredients are mixed together.img_6582

Spray a cupcake tin with non-stick spray or wipe the tin with vegetable oil.

Drop heaping spoonfuls of the dough into each cup. (I used an ice cream scoop to do this. The cookie dough scoop is a bit small for this particular endeavor).

Bake the cookies for 8-12 minutes. (Eyeball it. The edges should be brown and raised when they’re done.)

When done, take the cookies out and place one square of Hershey’s chocolate into each cookie.

Give each cookie a dollop of marshmallow fluff on top of the chocolate, and garnish with graham cracker crumbs as desired.

Lets the cookies cool for at least 10-15 minutes in the pan (or else they w
ill fall apart!)
These cookies are for the “doughy-ness” lovers among us. Tread carefully. They WILL fall apart if you take them out too early! (But does that really stop us anyway, fellow cookie lovers?)

 

Enjoy!!!

And, as always, GO DAWGS!

Robyn

 

2 thoughts on “S’mores Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

