a book for all you girly girls

For all you females who want a light-hearted, hilarious read that’s perfect for your bedside table even though you’ll probably finish it all in one sitting and it won’t even make it to the bedside table…I have a book for you!

A few things first:

1) I’m very choose-y about the books I read that are written for anyone over the age of 7.

And by choose-y, I mean, as much as I love a good Nicholas Sparks beach read, I skip over any and all sex scenes. Because they are awkward.

I don’t like books with sex scenes. I’ll just say it. But that’s a whole other story.

I also don’t like books with a lot of curse words. Curse words are not pretty. That’s also a whole other story.

What I’m getting at is: if I recommend a book, it’s “clean.”

2) This is a book whose target audience is teenage girls, the same way Harry Potter was targeted at youth. I still love Harry Potter, and I’m 26. So even though this book is targeted at teenage girls, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think you might, too.

It’s called, “I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You.”

image3 (2)

The title sounds ominous. But it’s not.

The basic plot is about a 15 year-old girl who attends a secret boarding school for spies. And she’s hilarious. Her problem is that, and I quote, “Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man seven different ways with her bare hands, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl” (Ally Carter, Hyperion).

The book has also been optioned for a film by Disney. So basically, you know it’s good. (Think “Princess Diaries,” which was also picked up by Disney.)

Best part? It’s a series! So you can just keep reading about girls kicking butt using lipstick as weapons and it’s awesome!

Blessings and Happy Reading to you!

Robyn

Leave a Reply

