a camera up the nose (& some other normal blessings)

I started 2016 with a camera up my nose.

But only after I reassured the doctor that I could handle it.

I think he was afraid because at the sight of some nose-vacuum thingys to my right I broke out into a sweat and started breathing funny.

But victory! I did it.

But then boo! The camera didn’t show us enough.

Because the sinus infection is probably all in my head, we think.

Which means, third round of antibiotics in a month.

We don’t know if they’ll work.

But we’ll try.

And then we’ll see what the CAT scan shows.

And then we’ll keep trying.

Erm…2016 didn’t exactly start with a bang. And I’ve cried a lot because ALL THE HEADACHES.

MyLANTA the headaches.

And then there was that time the second doctor asked me “When did the pain start?” and then I recalled “Um..um…oh gosh…December 10…yeah..” with a sniffle that wouldn’t be stifled and then embarrassingly turned into a sob.

You know, not the cute kind. The ugly kind where you CRY.

And the sweet doctor. I will forever be grateful for the fact that she hugged me close in kindness and didn’t recoil in confusion at ALL MY EMOTIONS. Because I have many. All the time. Especially when my head is throbbing. Just ask Michael.

All that to say….I want to complain way more than I should need to count all the ways God has been good to me in this season of my bowling-ball head. (Definition of a bowling-ball head = a head that feels like a bowling-ball).


 

  1. I’m writing this on the laptop Michael surprised me with — because he believes in me.
  2. Michael’s patient heart, picking up the slack around here
  3. Disney Channel
  4. Our well-loved couch
  5. Somehow I felt great on Christmas. Thanks, God!
  6. The gift of working with a family who would rather me have all the doctor appointments I need than try to make a perfect schedule
  7. Tucker 
  8. Mom & Dad checking up on me
  9. Hey. If I have to be stuck on the couch resting, I’m glad I have a bag of Christmas candy to keep me company! Hey-Ohhh!
  10. Books. Alllllllll the books.
  11. Ibuprofen. I love you. 
  12. The blue-gray walls in our living room have surrounded me with so much joy.
  13. God’s Word. I never realized before how wonderfully, perfectly, and really human Jesus was until I read through – really read through – the gospels for myself.
  14. Time.
  15. Prayer. Even when I’m frustrated with circumstances (and even with God) He’s still there.
  16. The truth that God loves us unconditionally. Even when we doubt.
  17. Hope
  18. Doctors who try their best to solve our health problems.
  19. The doctor who hugged me when I cried.
  20. The doctor who stuck a camera up my nose (someone had to do it. I for one am glad he knew how and didn’t accidentally hit my brain or something).
  21. The fact that nowadays we have CAMERAS that can see into our HEADS to help us. (Crazy!)
  22. Strength to still try my best to do the things I love: writing, playing with kids, cleaning the house (did I just say I love cleaning the house?)
  23. How all of a sudden I appreciate cleaning the house because for weeks I didn’t have that strength.
  24. How I know God is working good from this month in my life even now, because He promises.
  25. How giving thanks changes everything.

 

All right, y’all. Here goes nothing. Maybe third antibiotic’s a charm. 

And yet, no matter what, all the while, God is good. 

“I will proclaim the name of the Lord. Oh, praise the greatness of our God! He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just. A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is He.” Deut 32:3-4.

Blessings and health and God’s abounding love to you,

Robyn

Leave a Reply

