8 Easy Ways to Stay Productive as Your Own Boss

Working for yourself is all fun and games until you start having one-sided conversations with your cat…then you might need a little motivation. 😉

That being said, this past month marks my 1 year anniversary of working for myself! WOOHOO!!!! Cue the fireworks, people!!

My career choice – God’s career choice for me – has been nothing short of His gift for my soul.

IMG_2542

I can’t imagine a day now without exercising my creativity through writing. And neither can I imagine a day without playing with my favorite littles in the whole world outside of a classroom…talk about the best inspiration!

So, best part about working for myself? No one tells me what to do.

Worst part about working for myself? No one tells me what to do.

I’m sure it’s with that in mind that lots of people ask about what my work day looks like. 

“How do you stay motivated?”

SO – aside from becoming a cat lady and hounding instagram with pictures of Tuck – here is a list of the ways I’ve learned to not only stay productive, but to really thrive in my unique (and 1 year strong!! eek!) working environment.

*********************************

8 Easy Ways to Stay Productive as Your Own Boss

  1. Wake up early.

  2. Establish a routine. (But if you’re a creative, make it a loose routine. Give yourself some leeway and grace for the mornings when you’re in the ZONE and don’t want to take that scheduled break or when you’re enjoying making pumpkin bread and the work can wait for thirty more minutes.)

  3. On that note… work in chunks of time and take breaks. I do it this way: 45 minutes of straight work, then 15 minutes of a break that has nothing to do with whatever creative project I’m working on. Like, laundry. But I don’t usually do that. Because….laundry. (Side note: I’ve even read that if you work in a regular office from 9-5, you’re more productive if you work in chunks of time, too, even if your break is simply walking to the water machine and back.)

  4. Text a friend at least once during the day – this provides human interaction during the work day because…the cat doesn’t count.

  5. On a similar note, if you don’t work from a rented office, get out of the house at least once a day! Even if it’s just to Target. Scratch that. Don’t go to Target. You’ll spend $300. Go to Home Depot instead…?

  6. Complete the hardest task first thing! (Not my favorite tip. But it’s true.)

  7. Exercise – with somebody! Endorphins and extra human interaction?! Jackpot!!! (Another side note: this great exercise program called Piyo is literally the bomb-dot-com.)

  8. When your established routine says it’s the end of the day, STOP. Don’t overwork and burn yourself out! Your work will be there tomorrow. I promise! 

“And don’t just do the minimum that will get you by. Do your best. Work from the heart for your real Master, for God…” Col 3:23, MSG translation.

Now go and have a wonderful and productive day!

Blessings to you,

Robyn

Leave a Reply

