Fifty Shades’ Opposite: a love note

There’s a lot out there right now about Fifty Shades of Grey.

And I don’t want to spend my time convincing people how it hurts and misguides the heart.

We all know it does.

We do.

Deep down, the heart knows.

Instead, I want to sing, write, think about about the lovely things. The excellent, true, praiseworthy, admirable things.

I want to thank my husband for his safe, exciting, deep adventure love. His love that unclogs my toilet and yet still sees me as the most beautiful woman he’s ever laid eyes on.

And so through the easy days and hard days and blind minutes angry and soft moments happy and through the months and the years and all the while, my heart sings about this love:

Dear Michael,

I love how you give me the best slice of pizza and the scoop of ice cream with the most chunks in it.

I love how you’re patient while I learn how to be a wife.

I love how you enjoy being my husband.

I love how you’re not perfect. But you apologize.

I love how you forgive me before I even apologize.

I love how you’re logical.

I love how you love God.

I love how you pray. I naturally pray with emotion. You naturally pray with faith.

I love how you hold my hand.

I love how you make me coffee.

I love how I just say “fro-yo” and you smile and we’re out the door and in the car and I’m in my sweats and we’re getting fro-yo.

I love the way you look in your work clothes. In workout clothes. In pajamas. With Tucker on your legs.

I love how you bought me Tucker for Valentine’s Day.

I love how you tell Tucker not to bite me.

I love how he ignores you lots of times.

I love your arms. And your legs. And your face. And your hands. And all of you.

I love how you’re the most handsome man in the world.

I love how you put me first without even batting an eye.

I love how you’re an introvert.

I love how you sit next to me on the couch instead of the other room because you know I like being around you.

I love how you teach me things.

I love how you cook.

I love how you work really hard.

I love how you train for races.

I love how if you had it your way, I would run every race with you.

I love how you run better with me beside you. Even though my little legs slow your fast legs down.

I love how you tell me to chase my dreams.

I love how when I get tired, you help me chase them.

I love how you snuggle with me.

I really love how you snuggle with me.

I love how you date me.

I love how we have our own language.

I love your curly hair.

I love how you’re my best friend.

I love how you’re my lover.

I love how you know the Bible really well. Better than I do.

I love how you lean on God.

I love how any money you make is our money together.

I love how you call us a team.

I love being your team mate.

I love how when I accidentally spend more money than I meant to, you send me a winky face emoji and then sometimes you joke about how my purse and Target and The Loft are “where all money goes to die.” And then you laugh and you hug me and you tell me my new shirt looks nice.

I love how you’re proud of the money I make even though it’s not as much as you make.

I love how you’re proud of my writing even though it doesn’t make money yet, because to you it’s not about the money.

I love how you vacuum and clean the showers.

I love how you’re a strong sounding board for anxious thoughts. And I love how you help me take those anxious thoughts down.

I love how you’re strong in more ways than one.

I love your wisdom.

I love your intelligence.

I love how you’re good at your job.

I love how you do your job with integrity. Because to you, it’s not about looking good. It’s about doing the right thing.

I love how you work hard, but you always manage to put me first.

I love how when you don’t put me first, you fix it.

I love how when you hurt my feelings, you listen to me. And you care. And you apologize.

I love how when I’m wrong, you’re not afraid to tell me.

I love the way you look at me.

I love how I’m never embarrassed in front of you. Because you’re safe.

I love how excited you are to see me every morning when we wake up.

And every day when you get home from work.

I love how you’re taking me out tonight. Because it’s Tuesday and because I’m your wife, you said.

I love the roses you bring me.

I love the nights we play scrabble.

I love how I’ve only won once. Because you’re so dang smart.

I love how we argue. Because we do. And then we learn.

I love how you know me better than anyone else.

I love how God sees us as one unit. One.

I love how we move closer to that beauty every day.

All my love,

Your Wife

Safe, exciting, deep adventure love springs from Perfect Love (1 John 4:7-9). Perfect Love breathes life into our hearts, lives, and marriages.

“Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm. For love is as strong as death…Love flashes like fire, the brightest kind of flame” (Song of Solomon 8:6).

Happy Tuesday, Dear Hearts! 

Blessings to you,

Robyn

Leave a Reply

